For Doctors & Clinics
8 min readUpdated 18 September 2026

Practo Alternatives for Clinics: A Fair Comparison

Looking at Practo alternatives? Here is what Practo publishes about Ray, Prime and Reach, and what six Indian competitors publish, checked September 2026.

A clinic owner comparing two clinic software websites side by side while making notes

Most people typing "practo alternatives" into a search box are not asking whether Practo is any good. They already know, having been on it for two or three years. The question is narrower: if I move off this, what do I move to, what does it cost, and what happens to my patient list on the way out. This answers the first two from the companies' own websites, all opened in September 2026. The third you will have to put to each vendor in writing, for a reason given below.

What Practo sells, from Practo's pages

Practo is several products, and clinics conflate them.

Ray by Practo is the clinic management software: appointments with automated SMS, online payments, patient records, templated advisory notes, record sharing, and, on the Ray product page, integration with the Unified Health Interface and direct upload of patient health records under ABDM. Its plans page lists two tiers. CM Atom is ₹999 a month on a one-year term, with up to 50 doctors, 3,000 free SMS, 5 GB storage, and Ray Payment Solution taking 2% per transaction. Clinic Management is ₹1,999 a month at list, ₹1,499 on a one-year commitment or ₹999 on a four-year one, with unlimited doctors, 8,000 free SMS, 20 GB and a 1.8% payment fee. Both carry a seven-day free trial. Neither says whether tax is included.

Practo Prime is the discovery product: premier visibility in the directory, instant online booking around the clock, a smart calling system with virtual numbers and call recordings, and dashboards. On cost, the page says you "Pay a one-time Technology fee" the first time a patient uses Practo's technology to connect with your clinic, inside a rolling 180-day window, refundable if the patient cancels. The amount is not published on the page. That is not a criticism, just a fact you need before you model it: you cannot forecast Prime's cost from the website, so ask for the number in writing before you sign or renew.

Practo Reach is advertising: "an ad slot for clinics and hospitals for getting better visibility on Practo.com", with guaranteed minimum patient views. No price published.

Practo's real strengths

Patient discovery, and it is not close. A patient searching for a dermatologist in your locality is likely to reach Practo before your website, and Prime and Reach exist because that attention is real. Brand recognition works too: a patient who has heard of Practo completes a booking without thinking, which is more than most clinic websites can say in year one. Ray does the ordinary things competently, and its ABDM position is public.

A clinic owner circling a listing fee on a printed monthly invoice

Why clinics look elsewhere anyway

Directory dependence. If bookings come through the directory, the patient relationship partly belongs to the directory. That is the structure of the deal, not a flaw in the execution, and it applies to any marketplace. The alternative is a booking page on your own domain, where the patient arrives at your name. Our guide to setting up online appointments for a clinic covers what that takes.

Cost you cannot forecast. The Ray subscription is published and predictable. The Prime technology fee is not, and it is charged per patient connection, so your marketing cost moves with volume in a way a subscription does not. Some clinics accept that trade. Others want a flat line in the budget.

Data portability. Here I have to be careful. Practo's help centre would not open on the day I checked and its terms page returned no policy text, so I will not tell you what Practo's export policy is. The question is identical for every vendor on this page, and none publishes a clear answer: what can I download when I leave, in what format, and how long does it take. Get it in writing from the vendor you are joining and the one you are leaving.

Named alternatives, and what they publish

All figures come from each company's own website, checked 18 September 2026. Where a company publishes no price, the table says so instead of guessing.

Product

What it is

Published price (own site, Sept 2026)

Tax

Ray by Practo

Clinic management, ABDM/UHI upload

CM Atom ₹999/mo (1 yr, ≤50 doctors); Clinic Management ₹1,999/mo list, ₹1,499 on 1 yr, ₹999 on 4 yrs

Not stated

Eka Care

Practice management, solo and small clinics

Doc Plus ₹16,999/yr (1 doctor, 2 staff); Doc Pro ₹18,749/yr; Clinic Pro ₹1,00,000/yr (5 doctors, 15 staff)

Plus 18% GST

HealthPlix

EMR for Indian doctors

Shown only inside an image, not readable as text

Not readable

DocPulse

Modular suite: EMR, queue, billing, pharmacy, LIMS, telemedicine

Not published; sales contact only

Not stated

Clinicea

EMR-first clinic platform

Starter ₹1,999, Pro ₹2,999, Enterprise ₹3,999 per practitioner/mo

Not stated

NoQueue

Appointments and live queue

Free plan; Pro ₹999/mo or ₹9,999/yr

Not stated

DrPage

Doctor website, booking, prescriptions

Basic ₹299/mo; Premium ₹499/mo; Yearly ₹4,990/yr

Plus 18% GST

ExaHealth

Own-domain booking, WhatsApp, ABDM

Solo, Clinic, Enterprise; Clinic price not published

Not published

How to read that table without fooling yourself

The spread from ₹299 a month to ₹1,00,000 a year does not mean one vendor is eight times better. These are not the same product. DrPage sells a doctor's website with booking and prescriptions; DocPulse a modular hospital-grade suite with a lab information system and inpatient management; NoQueue an appointment and queue tool whose payment integration it says is still coming. Three adjustments make the numbers comparable:

  1. Put everything on a yearly, tax-included basis. Software subscriptions carry 18% GST. Eka Care and DrPage state that on the page; Practo, Clinicea and NoQueue do not, so ask.

  2. Add the per-use charges. Ray Payment Solution takes 2% (CM Atom) or 1.8% (Clinic Management) of what you collect through it. Eka Care charges WhatsApp per message, teleconsultation per minute after 200 free minutes, and storage above the allowance. On volume, those outgrow the subscription.

  3. Note the commitment. Practo's cheapest Clinic Management rate needs four years. A clinic moving off one vendor should think hard before locking into four years at the next.

Where ExaHealth fits in this list

ExaHealth is one option here, not the conclusion. It fits if the reason you are leaving is directory dependence: bookings come through the clinic's own website on its own domain with no directory listing fee, and a live queue shows patients a real wait time with a WhatsApp alert when they are next. Prescriptions, reminders, lab reports and receipts go out on WhatsApp with no app for the patient to install, and ExaHealth is an ABDM-certified PHR and health locker, so ABHA-linked records can be pulled and shared with consent. It lists migration help for records, visit history and prescriptions. It fits poorly if what you value about Practo is the inbound flow from the directory, which it does not replace, and its Clinic price is not published, so ask for a quote. For head-to-head detail against one competitor, see our comparison of Clinicea and ExaHealth.

A clinic owner working through a printed list of five questions during a vendor demo call

Five questions before you move

Ask every vendor on your shortlist, including the one you are on now:

  • Total monthly cost at my doctor count, tax included, with every per-transaction and per-message charge listed?

  • What exactly can I export if I leave, in what format, and in how many days?

  • Is patient messaging native, or a third-party add-on I pay for separately?

  • What is the minimum commitment for the price you just quoted?

  • Can you show ABHA-linked records arriving in a live consultation screen?

Whoever answers fastest and in writing is telling you something about the next two years of support. If ExaHealth is on that shortlist, talk to the ExaHealth team and put the same five questions to them.

Sources

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does Practo cost for a clinic?

Practo publishes Ray's software pricing and not much else. On practo.com in September 2026, Ray CM Atom is ₹999 a month on a one-year term and Clinic Management is ₹1,999 a month at list, falling to ₹1,499 on a one-year commitment or ₹999 on a four-year one. Payments collected through Ray Payment Solution carry 2% or 1.8%. Practo Prime and Practo Reach do not publish prices at all.

Does Practo charge a listing fee?

Practo's Prime page describes a one-time technology fee charged the first time a patient uses Practo's technology to reach your clinic, within a rolling 180-day window, refunded if the patient cancels. The amount is not published. Do not accept a figure from a comparison blog; ask Practo for the current rate in writing.

Which Practo alternative is cheapest?

On published prices in September 2026, NoQueue has a free tier and DrPage starts at ₹299 a month plus GST. Both are lighter products than Ray, so cheapest and equivalent are different questions. If you need an EMR with billing and a lab module, the comparison set is Clinicea, DocPulse and Eka Care, and two of those three publish a figure.

Can I keep my Practo profile and use different software?

Nothing on Practo's own pages says Prime or a directory profile requires you to run Ray. Practo lists them as separate products, and its Prime page mentions clinic management software as an additional paid subscription. Confirm it with Practo for your account before assuming, because plan bundling is the kind of thing that changes.

What matters more than price when switching?

Getting your records out of the old system and into the new one intact, and how fast your receptionist stops making mistakes on the new screen. A ₹700 a month saving is wiped out by two weeks of a slow front desk. Run a real booking, a real prescription and a real bill on each shortlisted system with your own staff before you decide.

practo alternatives
practo alternatives for clinics
for doctors
ExaHealth Team
Clinical Content
Editorial standards

Track Your Health Journey

Upload your lab reports and let ExaHealth organize your health data across 14 categories. Get personalized summaries based on your age, life stage, and health history.